Letting the World Reset by Kyrah from Wahoo MS

I awake to my youngest daughter only at age five, going into chemotherapy. Arden–my oldest daughter at fifteen–is standing right beside her. I’m telling them both its going to be alright. Arden has been through this before, surviving the deadly cancer. She had the same rare blood type as me and all the past generations. Everyone lived, except my now gone daughter, Audrey. After she died, at only at two months, all of the medications stopped working and the family had to go back to chemo. Once I got back to the horror of reality, Iris was moving in to chemotherapy, taking the pills that helped with the procedure. I couldn’t be in the room it was too difficult. It was the same procedure that killed Audrey. Nevertheless Arden stayed by Iris’s side the whole time. Suddenly I hear a scream come from the chemotherapy room; it sounded like Iris. The world started to spin faster, faster until I couldn’t see my own hands.

Suddenly, horror filled my shaking body, as I realize that the world had stopped. I was back in time to the medication lab. Making the meds that gave everyone life. I scramble trying new meds with all of the mixes that “supposedly” cure cancer. As soon as I make the small pills, I’m back to the time when Iris was taking the pills. The meds were already shipped all around the world just like the others. No one even mentioned that I was gone. Suddenly everyone died in the chemotherapy room, they just dropped dead. Then everyone started to die, everyone around us. It was only Arden, Iris, and I that were left.

We soon find out that the meds only work on our expensive blood type. Everyone else dies. I start to run, soon to hear my two daughters catching up quickly. I grab my phone, I call everyone. Telling them to meet me at the farm on County Road 29. I shove the keys into my small crappy car, the engine failing twice. Iris is in the back, laying down to help the pain in her feet from running barefoot, quickly to fall fast asleep. Arden, after comforting her sister to sleep, turns to me and right away, we start playing 20 questions. I don’t say anything to her, and just let her talk to get it out of her system.

Soon we arrive to the very small country house after driving for two and a half hours letting both of the girls rest. To see all of our family, who arrived with cows, pigs, chicken, and sheep. My aunt Kendra brought and axe, along with her husband Mark and their two girls, Addy (who was 12) and Avery (who just turned 10). I turned on the sound to the radio on my car ever so slightly, just so the little girls could dance the night away as we were put to work.

We build small, small pens for the animals. Night came and the cold settled in. Everyone rushed into the house but I stayed outside not being able to move due to a pain in my side. Then I turned off the car. I slowly walked into the small house, I lay next to Arden who at the moment was staring at the wall.

  I ask her, “So, what do you think of all this?” As I slowly close my eyes, eager to hear her response.

“I think its great, the world needs some time. You know what I mean?” she whispered to me as she laid down.

I responded with a simple, quick answer, “No, I really don’t.”

“Well, in my opinion the world needs some time to just reset,” she said as if she had prepared it.

“I think everyone needs to reset,” I whispered.

The pain killing inside of me took over. Thats when I realized, I needed to reset, just like the world. I doze off in an infinity of sleep, as if I was falling, knowing waking up is now not an option.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

